Dairy-Free Tips: How to Successfully Make the Switch
It is surprisingly easy to replace dairy products, and there is an ever growing variety of foods on the market to enable you to make the transition from an animal based diet to a vegan diet without any difficulty.
Basically, every dairy product can be replaced with a vegan substitute. You can make pies using tofu or plant-based cream instead of dairy cream, ice cream using plant-based milk, bananas or cashew nuts. You can buy plant-based milk, yogurts, creams, custard, cheese, etc. Most of the time, people will not even notice the difference.
Rice, coconut, almond, oat, hemp seed and soy milks are widely available at most supermarkets and health food stores. The most common brands are Alpro, Oatly, Koko Dairy-free, Tesco’s own plant-based milk brand, etc. Always read the labels and compare brands to see which ones you prefer as each brand has its own flavour. Many plant-based milks are fortified with calcium and vitamins D2 and B12, which can easily boost your daily intake.
Use them exactly the same way you would use the animal-based version, in your breakfast porridge, in smoothies, sauces, in your coffee or tea, in your desserts, baking, etc.
Plant based creams and yogurts
Vegan yogurts: They are usually made with soya or coconut and can be flavoured, sweetened or unsweetened. The most popular brand is Alpro. You can buy them at health food stores and most supermarkets.
Ice-cream: The most popular brands are Swedish Glace, Booja Booja and Tesco’s own brand, which are available at many health food stores. You can also easily make your own ice cream, using cashew nuts or bananas (watch videos below).
Dessert creams and custards: The most popular brand is Alpro and is available at most supermarkets. They come in different flavours.
Use silken tofu as a cream replacement for savoury pies and cashew nut cream for sweetened pies.
Plant based Margarine and Mayonnaise
Margarine: Suma and Biona brands are available at health food stores. Pure and Vitalite are available at many supermarkets. Always read the labels, as many margarines contain animal derived ingredients such as whey (even if they state “sunflower or olive margarine”) and non-vegan vitamin D3. The plant-based brands can be used for baking, as a spread, or for any recipe that uses the animal-based version.
Mayonnaise: Plamil is the most popular brand, available at health food stores and some supermarkets. Kelkin Dairy Free Mayonnaise is available at many supermarkets.
There are many chocolate bars and cocoa powder brands which are suitable for vegans. As usual, make sure to read the label. Many mainstream brands offer a vegan version of their products. However it is best to stick with fair-trade chocolate to avoid supporting child-labour practices.
Read next: Replacing Eggs